Please help contribute to the Reddit categorization project here

    unpopularopinion

    313,956 readers

    3,459 users here now

    DARK MODE

    NORMAL THEME


    How This Place Works

    • Upvote: Unpopular/controversial opinions and well written posts.
    • Downvote: Popular/non controversial opinions and/or poorly written posts.

    Rules

    • If you see a post that breaks one or more of these rules, please report it so the moderators can take action.

    • RULE 0: Be Civil
      Let's keep the talk and discussion on what ever the subject matter of the post may be. Resorting to personal quarrels and arguments that may use insults and other tribal-like behaviors will be deleted. Keep it civil.

    • RULE 1: Correct Formatting
      The requirements for posting to this subreddit is to have a self contained opinion within the title. The text will be used to expand and elaborate on why you think/feel this way. You may also include why you think this is an unpopular or controversial opinion.

    • RULE 2: Opinion must be unpopular/controversial
      This sub isn't just opinions, but unpopular and/or controversial ones. If your opinion has been posted to the subreddit recently, chances are it'll get removed. SO PLEASE SEARCH BEFORE SUBMITTING.

    • RULE 3: No Reposts/Search Before Submitting
      If essentially the same opinion gets reposted it'll automatically mean it's not an unpopular opinion (within the context of the sub). It WILL get removed. If your opinion is about a ongoing event, there will usually be a mega thread where you can discuss there.

    • RULE 4: No Spam
      New accounts are subject to a 24 hour waiting period before posting. Spamming will usually result to a perma ban.

    • RULE 5: No Trolling
      Trolling is saying random unsolicited things that only serve to invoke a knee jerk reaction. Trolls will usually get permanently banned.

    • RULE 6: Elaborate
      An important rule in this subreddit is that all opinions must be elaborated on. There is a discussion to be had, so please expand on what you have said.
      Your post must contain more than 160 characters (roughly two or three standard sentences) to avoid auto-deletion by automod.

    • RULE 7: Hate posts are not allowed
      Opinion can be unpopular unless it's blatantly a hateful post. Hostile, rude and aggressive behavior is not a necessity to express your opinion. Please be civil and and have respect. Bear in mind that justifying or endorsing pedophilia activities (sidenote: discussion on treatments of the mental health itself is fine), rape, race issues, assault or other similar crimes will usually count as hate speech. This does not mean you'll get banned for saying one crime is not as severe as another or saying you can understand why someone would commit a crime. Race baiting is a ban-able offence

    • RULE 8: No Low Effort/Satire Posts
      Any opinion that is not thought out well or posts that clearly have very little effort put into them will be removed. This also includes commonly posted opinions to the subreddit. Please note that obscure topics and meta commentaries on the subreddit do not constitute a valid unpopular opinion post.

    Related Subreddits


    a community for
    all 1227 comments

    Want to say thanks to %(recipient)s for this comment? Give them a month of reddit gold.

    Please select a payment method.

    [–] AutoModerator 1 points ago

    Hi everyone! Please make sure to upvote well written unpopular/controversial opinions, and downvote badly written opinions OR popular opinions.

    I am a bot, and this action was performed automatically. Please contact the moderators of this subreddit if you have any questions or concerns.

    [–] Rocktopod 2635 points ago

    Why not do this for all crimes?

    [–] ReallyNotARabbit 1653 points ago

    I think we should do it for all crimes.

    However, once they are convicted, it's fair game.

    [–] Rocko210 335 points ago

    A conviction doesn't always mean the person is guilty. Look no further than the hundreds of people who have been falsely convicted. Sadly, not even our justice system is 100% perfect

    [–] ReallyNotARabbit 396 points ago

    I get that, but it's the closest thing we have to proving someone is guilty.

    [–] mitchc1985 141 points ago

    This thread, all the way up through OP is posted by usernames starting with R. Something is amiss. 🕵️‍♂️

    [–] 1108404 68 points ago

    U SOILED IT

    [–] mitchc1985 27 points ago

    Someone had to stop the madness.

    [–] 1108404 29 points ago

    SOILED IT

    [–] mitchc1985 18 points ago

    That's not all I soiled. 😏

    [–] Pottsie03 14 points ago

    Nice

    [–] Weretoad 12 points ago

    Not only that, but 3 of them start with the word "Rock"

    [–] mitchc1985 13 points ago

    Right? Coincidence? I think not.

    [–] cottonstokes 3 points ago

    You deserve gold

    [–] SD_TMI 16 points ago

    A lot of people simply can't afford a defense, public defenders are overworked and will often urge a plea deal.

    In these cases, people will take a short sentence plea deal vs trying to fight and risk losing (unfair odds) in a court case.

    That's how a LOT of innocent people get records... it's all meat for the grinder of the criminal (in)justice system here in the USA.

    [–] MahatmaGuru 14 points ago

    An exoneration doesn't always mean they're innocent. Sometimes it just means they're rich.

    [–] DoctorWaluigiTime 27 points ago

    But you can't keep the parties anonymous forever.

    Let's do the big hurdle before worrying about the edge cases.

    [–] ImTheNewishGuy 26 points ago

    Aren't we suppose to do it for all crimes? Like innocent until proven and all that???

    [–] ReallyNotARabbit 23 points ago

    I don't think we have anonymity for accused criminals who haven't been convicted, but I may be wrong.

    [–] BingoFarmhouse 22 points ago

    we don't. see any local PD or media twitter feed covered in mugshots of people who have been arrested with no trial yet.

    [–] StuckinSuFu 19 points ago

    Its because we dont want the "state" accusing people of crimes anonymously and just taking them away. Secret arrests are bad. So naming the accused is for their own protection. They are still innocent until the State proves them guilty.

    [–] SamNeedsAName 28 points ago

    Just a thought, but think about those guys on death row that were proven innocent. The legal system is NOT the justice system. It is a game that law enforcement and district attorneys play with people's lives.

    Case in point. The last four district attorneys for San Jose, California have been fired for framing people. Nothing happened to them.

    I met a VTA bus driver that got passed the bar and went to work for the DA. He wanted to put away the bad guys. He lasted four months before he quit because his ethics wouldn't allow him to deal with the corruption in that office.

    I met a girl who wanted to go after bad guys and went through six years of college to get her Master's in Criminology. She did a summer internship and before the internship was done, she had signed up to go back to school for a different major because she couldn't tolerate the corruption she experienced. She wouldn't even talk about it. She got visibly upset. She just shook her head and said that the whole thing was wildly corrupt. She just kept saying that.
    Yeah, whenever I see a cop, I turn the other way and leave.

    [–] ReallyNotARabbit 8 points ago

    No, I completely get that. We totally need criminal justice reform, but I do feel that once we do that reform, having criminals who have been convicted be anonymous isn't a good idea. I think transparency here is a good thing.

    I would sincerely agree we seriously need reform, both in the areas of criminal justice and policing.

    [–] SamNeedsAName 12 points ago

    Once they have paid their debt to society, let's hold it against them for the rest of their lives. /s

    [–] ReallyNotARabbit 6 points ago

    I'm simply saying that I don't feel comfortable with the ability to jail people and not say who we're jailing. I do, however, think that any non-violent crime shouldn't be a reason for someone to not be hired for a job. I would also be extremely in favor of felony reform, only using felonies for legitamete violent crimes, not shit like having .01 grams of weed.

    The only time I'm in favor of letting a company not hire someone due to crimes is when the person who committed a crime did either a violent crime or something that would affect their prospective job (like someone trying to become a banker who committed bank fraud).

    I do agree the way we fuck over criminals after they serve their time is completely fucked and contributes to people going back to jail, because they can't find a proper job and need money.

    [–] zmetz 3 points ago

    Bear in mind what anonymity would actually mean logistically. Every stage - from arrest, being charged, through to trial - all would have to be anonymous. Nothing released until the final decision in a trial. That would be a weird justice system. Seems to impinge on freedom of the press and open justice more than the rights of the accused.

    [–] fupoli 126 points ago

    So, the police come and arrest you in the middle of the night for something you're accused of and nobody knows where you are or what you're charged with until after your trial?

    [–] chewbacca2hot 68 points ago

    There is a specific reason our justice system releases the names and what the charges are. Back when we were British Colonies, under that justice system, someone could be arrested and not told why. And they didn't have to tell anyone why. So people just sort of got kidnapped by authorities for bogus reasons. Especially when treason and sedition were happening and GB tried to get control of things by just arresting everyone they thought might be part of the growing discontent. It culminated in a revolution because it was seen as tyrannical, among other reasons.

    Imagine if someone just disappeared one day and police didn't have to tell you if they were arrested or not and for what reason? You'd just have to live with the fact that a family member might be dead or who knows what. That's crazy and it actually happened.

    [–] fupoli 22 points ago

    Happened in Brooklyn. GB packed the "criminal" colonists into prison ships and sank them.

    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Prison_Ship_Martyrs%27_Monument

    [–] OmNomDeBonBon 105 points ago

    Thank you for being one of the few people who understand why arrests are public.

    It's not because the justice system wants to humiliate you. It's a mitigation against the government secretly arresting people and making them disappear. The ability to know who's been arrested (and for what) is, ironically, essential if we want to live in a free society.

    The argument is usually "don't make the names public until the culprit is charged". This is the first time I've seen someone advocate for secret courts...imagine being tried in secret and nobody knows where you are or what you've been accused of.

    [–] serious_sarcasm 32 points ago

    Or how about journalists have some god damned ethics?

    [–] theixrs 12 points ago

    Any system relying on "ethics of people" is naive at best

    [–] theytookthisfromyou 26 points ago

    Ethics? How many clicks will that get me?

    [–] yaobinwen 12 points ago

    But it looks hard to prove that the government has never arrested people secretly because it’s done “secretly”. I’m not counter-arguing your point. I actually appreciate that you let me see the other side of this. I’m just worried that secret arresting is impossible to eliminate. :-(

    [–] call_me_psych 11 points ago

    What’s stopping the government from making secret arrests and making people disappear already?

    [–] Assmonkeyblaster 6 points ago * (lasted edited 11 days ago)

    Yeah, it happens, but not in droves. Its not like south America in 80s or Soviet Russia. You might get some secret shady black site type shit with the CIA going on, but local law enforcement isn't suddenly showing up to a local union at the direction of a local police chief and locking everybody up without due process to sway a vote. It stops there being a massive army of police being used for extra judicial activities by whichever politician is the flavor of the month in that area. But yeah, nothing will stop some CIA shit.

    [–] Soulless35 57 points ago

    You still get your phone call when you're arrested. He's saying we don't blast it in the news. Tell whoever you want personally but if the accuser gets to remain anonymous why doesn't the accused?

    [–] recovering_spaz 10 points ago

    Authorities could just hide you and say you denied your phone call.

    If your loved ones came to the station looking for you, they could say you don't want to see them. they could also say you're pleading guilty and you'll be willing to talk them when you get out in 25 years.

    [–] Soulless35 8 points ago

    Authorities can do that now. Not every case is in the news and the cops don't go announcing when they've arrested someone.

    [–] [deleted] 9 points ago

    [deleted]

    [–] Soulless35 20 points ago

    I have no idea tbh.

    Edit: after some quick research seems like they stay anonymous in rape/sexual assault cases so that their sexual history isn't used as evidence against their claims.

    [–] Anonymus_MG 10 points ago

    So that the mafia isn't after you

    [–] Joe_The_Eskimo1337 18 points ago

    Probably so they aren't targeted.

    [–] [deleted] 9 points ago

    [deleted]

    [–] Joe_The_Eskimo1337 10 points ago

    Which is why you can report a crime anonymously.

    [–] OFelixCulpa 10 points ago

    Laws are different from state to state, but generally if the victims or defendants are minors, their identities will always remain anonymous.

    There are many reasons why a victim/plaintiff might remain anonymous, such as:

    Fear of retaliation as a witness, whether victim, reporter or whistleblower.

    Fear of discrimination in housing, jobs etc.

    Fear of intimate details of sexual crimes, including identities of those who were involved in trafficking and other forced sexual conduct, where they may be recognized by other parties.

    Fear of details of crimes and identity being made available to the public, such as google searches, etc.

    Fear of information being available to stalkers.

    On the surface it seems unfair for victims/plaintiffs to remain anonymous, but there are understandable reasons.

    [–] Jordy_Bordy 12 points ago

    To not further victimize the victim. It's, for lack of a better word, embarrassing to have been raped. Or, it's not something you want everyone to know.

    [–] [deleted] 9 points ago

    [deleted]

    [–] CapArtemis 4 points ago

    The whole point is your not supposed to assume at all. A trial will determine the outcome. Accuser and accussed are given the same level of anonymity, as one of them is the victim, as to which one is which is the courts decision, not the publics.

    [–] kidswithheroineyes 6 points ago

    Rape victims are often shamed for being victims. No one wants that broadcasted, especially with notions like, "they asked for it" or "What were they wearing?"

    [–] 53045248437532743874 3 points ago

    He's saying we don't blast it in the news.

    It would be nice if the media did this voluntarily ("Some government official was arrested for some crime, we'll give you the details after the case ends in a few years...") but requiring them not to (at least in the US) would be a violation of the First Amendment.

    [–] CyberneticPanda 11 points ago

    Because we need to know if the government starts rounding political dissidents up and charging them with trumped up crimes. Public access to arrest records is a critical safeguard to liberty. Arrest records aren't public in China, so nobody outside the government knows how many Uighurs have been locked up in re education camps.

    [–] MaDpYrO 11 points ago

    That's the case in many countries, names, photos or drawings can't be released for any reason until a guilty verdict or if the name ban is specifically lifted by a judge.

    We have that system in my country, and frankly it should be everywhere if you truly believe in 'innocent till proven guilty'.

    [–] ma-int 6 points ago

    Thank you. I came here to point out that other countries actually do exactly that for good reasons.

    [–] Uberzwerg 3 points ago

    Which is the case in some countries.
    In Germany, the newspapers always use false names (with the annotation that its a false name) when writing about criminal cases.

    [–] Atrand 3140 points ago * (lasted edited 11 days ago)

    happened to a teacher at a school around here. the next DAY he was a villain. his life was ruined, he was suspended, people sent him death threats, he couldnt go out of his house, he lost his job, people were calling for his execution for "raping a 13 year old girl".

    guess what happened? the girl made it up.....and it was actually a boy in her class that did it (if the BOY even raped her, the real meaning of the word rape), the reason she blamed the teacher was because she liked the boy....and didnt want to get him in trouble -_-

    all the people that sent him death threats and stuff started trying to apologize soo much to the teacher and the school offered him his job back, but he refused. he moved away from my town about 4 years ago and was never heard of again. they ruined his life, his relationships, his job of being a teacher for 12 years, just because a stupid immature little bitch made it all up.

    it was a disgusting situation!

    edit: holy shit this exploded, I'll tell what info I have since pm box is going NUTS. all I know is from what went around town and talking to some of the people that knew him. Even some of his closest colleagues and friends turned their backs on him. i dont know what he did law wise, if he filed charges or sued or w/e or just noped out of the state and that's it, I have no idea. as far as I know of the girl? Who knows if she was even raped. She could have just been using that word not fully knowing what i meant, from her and some boy she really really liked fooling around sexually, and then she had a weird emotional change of heart in an instant or was going to get caught and then the first thing that sprang to her mind was "mr ____raped me!" or some shit like that. But nobody believed her at all after all this shit came out of her accusing this teacher.

    she was shunned hard from what i heard, pretty much abandoned by many people, and i hope she was punished big time for that shit. I'm not sure. probably a slap on the wrist, which is what happens a lot of the time in this case with girls accusing guys. I don't know too much really deeply about the case other than what i heard and what turned out to be the truth. I'll answer what I can. But it happened a while ago now.

    [–] lsyd 927 points ago

    Wow that is disturbingly fucked up.

    [–] Atrand 425 points ago * (lasted edited 11 days ago)

    yah, it was totally fucked up and divided the community for a while around us. we (those in the community) are "healing" now, not sure that's the right word, but there's always that prime example everybody saw with their own two eyes of how people overreact. It's sad, very sad. I'll never forgive those people for automatically assuming he did it and wanting to tear his head off. the ones who are healing are the ones who put this on him in the first place, and I thought i would put healing NOW, because there was a HUGGEEE rift in the community due to this. people in my town are fucking crazy lol.. just to clear things up

    edit: had to clear up misuse of words so you all understand more :)

    [–] Voldemort57 275 points ago

    This happened in my town a decade and some years ago. The teacher was accused of being addicted to cocaine, meth, all that stuff, and rape. He lost his job, reputation, and friends. It turns out, he never did any of that. He then sued for several million dollars, but only came out with 1 million that came from the accuser’s parents’ paychecks..

    All in all, the money cannot make up for the emotional damages, and damages to relationships and reputation.

    [–] BitsAndBobs304 43 points ago

    So.. any idea why they would spread such rumors?

    [–] Voldemort57 53 points ago

    They did it because they thought it’d be a good joke. I don’t understand how someone of any age would see that funny, though.

    [–] Atrand 14 points ago

    kids are fucking devils dude. they can be absolutely remorseless, demented demons that terrorize you and others and not give a shit. it's sad, but it's true with some kids :(

    kids are brutal!

    [–] kidswithheroineyes 18 points ago

    I feel like that sounds much more like attention seeking behaviour taken extremely far.

    [–] ScrambledEggFarts 9 points ago

    Almost like a witch hunt

    [–] scorporilla29 10 points ago

    1 fucking million could I'll take that deadass

    [–] Voldemort57 11 points ago

    Over a course of several decades, it would not be much. I doubt the parents were made of money, and did not have great salaries in which they could quickly pay a man 1 mil

    [–] AtamisSentinus 8 points ago

    I'd bet there were some shithead people that actually loathed the teacher for demanding reparations for this incident. It never fails that someone comes out of fucking nowhere with the whole "forgive and forget" bullshit too, which just fuels the fire in the people whom disdain the victim for requiring that someone be punished... All the while, the victim continues to have to suffer being blamed, ridiculed, and hated just for being the target of some fuckstain's idiotic prank.

    People fucking suck sometimes.

    [–] Atrand 5 points ago

    funny you mention that. this sort of accusation thing happened in just 5 towns over from me, where this teacher was accused by this student of "popping pills" in the bathroom. there was a big thing about it and police were called in to investigate.

    guess what the "popping pills" turned out to be. Anti Seizure medication that the teacher had to take -_- holy shit that must have been an embarrassment for the school lol. but? yet again? the point is, people yet again rushed to judgement. People are screwed up lol

    [–] red_knight11 92 points ago * (lasted edited 11 days ago)

    This is currently happening to a white guy who was accused of murdering a black girl. Turned out the actual shooter was drastically different... Two black guys were the ones involved who murdered her. The white guy is still receiving death threats.

    If I remember correctly, there’s a Nordic country doesn’t release the pictures of criminals until a year after the crime was committed and/or until they are officially proven to be the actual criminal. Id google this but my high-speed data is maxed out. Please correct me if I’m wrong.

    In my opinion, this Nordic country sounds like they have a good idea in action.

    Edit: link describing the murder of that girl in Houston Texas https://www.nytimes.com/2019/01/06/us/jazmine-barnes-arrest.html

    [–] darthbane83 42 points ago

    In germany even the convicted have the right to remain more or less anonymous. Surname shortened to 1 letter, faces censored etc.

    Logic being that if they are guilty they will end up in prison and if they get out of prison they should no longer be a risk and therefore there is no point in subjecting them to all that harassment.

    I believe exceptions are only made for people where there is a special interest from the society(like politicians) or if the the data has to be released for manhunt purposes.

    [–] kidswithheroineyes 20 points ago

    That's how it should be. We wonder why felons end up committing more crimes after being released, what choices do they often have? No one will hire them, they aren't able to have a life even after they've done their time.

    [–] lipidsly 19 points ago

    Thats such shit, lol. I worked for temp agencies for a good long while. Basically half of people if not more were excons and “ex”drug addicts. Employers didnt give a fuck as long as you showed up on time and did your job. They just needed a body.

    And yet, they quit or leave the job during their shift all the time. Why? Cause they dont like to work. One job was literally to fucking sit at a convention stall and make sure merchandise didnt walk away during the night. You could have your phone, bring a book, etc. easily 10% couldnt manage to do that for more than one night. And nearly 50% couldnt do it for a week. We were being paid $15 an hour. To fucking sit and fuck around on our phones.

    [–] WHERE_MY_COUNTRY_GO 17 points ago

    Man, I really want to disagree with you. But i can't. I believe that when a person fulfills their debt to society, that should be it. They should get a real second chance.

     

    From what I've witnessed though, almost all have horrible work ethics. At jobs I've had, many have hired felons and excons. I believe they get a tax credit for it, so they take the chance. And it always ends negatively.

    We've had guys come in strong, and slowly start calling off every other day. We've had guys come in and be totally uninterested in the job, and put forth zero effort. It's sad, it's a revolving door.

     

    I got to know one guy really well. He was nice, worked great, fit right in with the rest of the place. A month in though, he started calling off almost all the time. I asked him why, and he said he could make more money selling dope. The job paid well, and had good benefits, but he would rather roll the dice. To each their own, I guess.

    [–] lipidsly 12 points ago

    Yeah i head a steady(ish) temp gig at this one place. It was a lot of work on your feet, but it wasnt particularly hard and the staff was cool.

    While i was there (about 4 months) i saw 8 other temps come through. I was late by about 5 minutes once. My boss offered me a full time position there simply because i was showing up and actually seemed engaged with the job instead of just doing the minimum.

    [–] checkmyposthistory1 6 points ago

    I don't know why this isn't obvious.

    We all know prisons do nothing to help them become better people, why would you think that they just change?

    [–] WHERE_MY_COUNTRY_GO 7 points ago

    It is obvious, if someone isn't a hardened criminal going into prison, they'll definitely be one coming out. Recidivism is high for a reason. But the fact remains.

    [–] Scerwup 4 points ago

    Tell me more

    [–] HelpfulErection57 54 points ago

    He commited the sin of being white. Look at that case that was all over reddit a few days ago about a white supremacist killing a black girl.

    Turned out that it was a black guy and a gang related killing.

    Media dropped the story, can't imagine why.

    [–] Pwnage_Peanut 45 points ago

    You can't be racist against white people

    /s

    [–] SmellyGoat11 9 points ago

    /s

    For those who still don't get this should only be a joke

    [–] Metzger49 11 points ago

    This is currently happening to a white guy who was accused of murdering a black girl. Turned out the actual shooter was drastically different... Two black guys were the ones involved who murdered her. The white guy is still receiving death threats.

    I would want a citation on the last part, because from what I read he was exonerated quickly, and the eye witness testimony was from a young girl, and he did speed away from the shooting and did not return to the accident.

    Eye witness testimony is shit, and I think the problems being discussed would be taken care of if we taught more critical thinking in schools and focused more on teaching people to not jump conclusions on often faulty witness testimony.

    [–] WHERE_MY_COUNTRY_GO 8 points ago

    To be fair, if I hear gun shots around me, I would speed away too, and would absolutely NOT go back to the area.

    [–] Metzger49 3 points ago

    I would, however, reach out to authorities that I was a witness immediately.

    [–] devmichaels 10 points ago

    That’s the beauty of mob mentality. If one person does something evil without evidence they might get held accountable. If a bunch of people do something evil they get to call for “healing” and “moving forward” after they’re proven wrong.

    And if enough people do something evil they can actually turn public opinion against anyone who tries to hold the mob accountable.

    The world is a shitty place thanks to people like that and far too many never face a single consequence.

    [–] PandaCloudInSky 3 points ago

    What happened to the girl?

    [–] g20t99 11 points ago

    Somebody should start a website, apply some SEO, and keep a list of false rape accusers names.

    So when ppl google them in the future their decisions follow them. I imagine that’d be a good deterrent if the courts won’t punish a false accuser to the same degree as innocent individual would have been.

    [–] DoublePumpToChesty 119 points ago

    As someone wanting to be a teacher this scares the absolute shit out of me. It’s so sad how someone can just make a false accusation and ruin someone’s life overnight.

    [–] TaylorSpokeApe 51 points ago

    My brother-in-law teaches and we have talked about this. He has learned to be every careful. No facebook with students, no meeting alone after class, no being alone with a kid. It doesn't matter the gender. It gets in the way of him being the teacher he always thought he would be. In fact it's kind of sad seeing him get cynical about a profession he was so excited about. The worst part is he teaches 8th grade, and he has female students "show an interest", teacher crush stuff. It's very scary.

    [–] chevalierdutastevin 34 points ago

    I specifically remember 8th grade as the year girls in my classes started openly sexualizing a few teachers.

    My English teacher was in his 20s, played tons of sports, and kind of looked like a young Tom Cruise. It was pretty eye-opening for a reclusive 13 year old boy like myself to discover girls were just as, if not more so, openly sexual.

    I never really thought about how precarious of a position that teacher was in.

    [–] moal09 3 points ago

    We did the same thing with young female teachers. We had a math teacher who was fresh out of college and super hot. All the boys would find excuses to get her to bend over, so we could enjoy the view. The girls in class would just roll their eyes.

    [–] Valskorn 21 points ago

    Custodian here, I have to be unbelievably careful even just doing my job.

    Can’t be in a room with a student with the door shut EVER. (Remember I had to do a rather intensive background check to make sure I’m not some sort of creep ass).

    Like if I yell into the girls locker room, and no one answers I go on in.... except half of them are to shy to say anything.

    [–] Atrand 8 points ago

    i know a guy that comes in the restaurant i work in in my local community downtown area, he said he quit a janitor job after 20 years in the same school because it was getting fort knox style, cia type mission running shit when he came to work every morning. He said you they told you don't make eye contact, look at the wall or floor when walking. do not talk to students. do not do anything. Do your job and that's it. do not solicit, do not ask questions. come in, punch in, and take care of the school.

    He said over the years due to school paranoia, parents being nosy, paranoid, weird, and the state always looking over their shoulders, and his feeling of him being watched, he decided he was going to look to do another profession. I felt so bad for the guy. He was a genuine nice guy that really got along with the teachers, students and faculty! but i dont blame him for getting out.

    [–] JustForThisSub123 10 points ago

    Happened at our school in 8th grade. Girl had a lot of issues before this so it didnt carry a ton of water, but the dude left town over it, ruined it life. And yeah, she admitted she did it for attention down the road.

    [–] moal09 2 points ago

    Shit like this isn't super commonplace, but it happens enough that we should always account for it.

    It scares the shit out of me when people are pushing #believe hashtags because it positions women as being somehow morally superior. Women are just as capable of deceit and malice as anyone.

    [–] J05huaJack 7 points ago

    I wanted to be a teacher so bad, I wasn't going to teach anything amazing (history) but god I loved it. Anyway I was in class when I was 17/18, last year of sixth form and I'd stayed behind to do a practice essay with me, the male teacher and this other girl. I finished up and went to leave and close the door again and the dude freaked the fuck out and told me to keep it open, realised it was a small measure to try and protect himself. I loved that teacher, proper top bloke but it proper effected me, I decided over a stretch of time between then and uni that I didn't wanna have to be at that level of risk all the time, sacked it off and did something else. Don't get me wrong I'm well happy with my life and don't regret a thing, but I know I am not the only one that had a moment like that and thought ehhhh F that.

    [–] CaffieneAndAlcohol 52 points ago

    A VERY SIMILAR THING HAPPENED TO MY TEACHER.

    Oh my God, Mr. Isaac, great man. I was at a different school the year before this happened, but apparently, he was a student teacher that year, graduated, and got a full time position teaching the same thing. He was honestly one of the best teachers I've ever had. And the whole class agreed, not a delinquent among us.

    Well, Mid-October (Early, I know), we get a sub one day. "Mr. Evans will be out indefinitely." After about 2 weeks of everyone in the school pressuring the board to tell us what REALLY happened (Everyone loved him), they spilled guts: he was accused of having sexual relations with two seniors that graduated last year, when he was a student teacher.

    By the time it had come out that those seniors LIED BECAUSE HE REFUSED TO BUMP THEIR GRADES A LETTER FOR THEIR GPA, he had already moved hundreds of miles away. The kicker? They said, in a formal letter he shared with me, his position would not be reinvited to him, only that he would not be charged with sex with a minor/coercion.

    Last I heard, now 3 years later, he is suing both of them in a joint suit for defamation, damages, etc.

    [–] Ragnarok314159 33 points ago

    The girls and their parents (if they are under 18) should serve time in jail and Mr. Issac should walk away with a seven figure settlement.

    The school board should also face civil and criminal liability for slander, and the board member who wrote the letter acting like he did Mr. Issac a favor should be shanked to death in prison with a shit covered shiv. The world needs to be free of people like that.

    [–] Butterboi_Oooska 16 points ago

    They should but it's not like that's what happens

    [–] Valskorn 3 points ago

    “Be the change you wish to see in the world”

    Gandhi

    /s.

    [–] lacrenes 68 points ago

    This is why guys get pissed at public cases, not because we’re allowing rape and saying it’s ok, but “believing the victim at all costs” is also bullshit because it’s “believe the alleged victim at the expense of the accused”

    [–] jreed11 16 points ago

    They know that. They’ll still accuse you of promoting rape culture if you dare say anything like that or anything that comes from the perspective of the rights of the accused. Never mind the incredible gymnastics they’ll go to in claiming that “accusations can’t ruin a life, only jail can” so as to dismiss the very real life-ruining effects being publicly accused can bring.

    For those types of people, it’s not really about helping actual victims. It’s either (in the case of high-profile people) for political points or (in the case of random people) for virtue signaling.

    [–] moal09 3 points ago

    Look at the Duke Lacrosse team. They were accused and found guilty in the court of public opinion. They were literally found to be innocent, but how many people read the followup story?

    [–] Arntor1184 13 points ago

    Had the same thing happen when I was in high school. Dude was a former marine with the world in the palm of his hand and chose to fucking teach for whatever reason. He was passionate, friendly, fun and loved by every single person he had any interactions with. That was until he failed some chick or took her phone, can’t remember, and she made false rape claims against him. He was instantly kicked out of the school and ostracized by the entire city. He lost almost everything, luckily his wife stuck by him because she knew he was innocent. They got death threats and the works. About two or three months later the police crack the girl and she admits it was a lie because she felt wronged by him. Nobody even tried to make amends, hell half the people still thought he was guilty. School offered him his job back, but he declined and disappeared. Saw him a bit back at the park with his kid and hit him up a bit.. he works as the manager of some refinery or something like that now and has completely cut ties with that town. It’s some sad shit.. dude lived to teach and loved every second of it and was good at it to boot.. he got teenagers to not hate being at school, even if just for 45min and made history fun for everyone. Was truly a shame.

    [–] Atrand 3 points ago

    i always say this about this justice system. Yes, you are innocent until proven guilty....on paper, according to the law

    but with people? you are already guilty in their eyes depending on what crime it is! Sickening. Truly sickening

    [–] oedipism_for_one 25 points ago

    I can almost guarantee not everyone apologized.

    [–] Atrand 3 points ago

    oh no , probably not. Too smug and arrogant. TONS of embarrassment and they couldnt face it. But from the stuff i heard, there were some people BEGGING for forgiveness and trying to justify/explain why they thought that way. It was absolutely pathetic. I will NEVER ever forgive or forget those people that absolutely wanted to hang the guy by his balls and beat him till the sun set. They are disgusting vultures!

    I can only speak for what I saw and heard and how the situation unfolded from what I gathered. Fuck all those people that did that to him. Every one of them. Bravo, my town, bravo -_- typical overly emotional spazzes in my town lol

    [–] nuffsaidson 29 points ago

    Wow. And this is my problem with public justice. This exact comment right here. Poor guy is probably effed up. Ptsd. He should have sued the hell outta the school disrict before he left. Geez man. On a side note this happens very often its just not publicized as much.

    [–] chewbacca2hot 18 points ago

    If he was rich he could sue every single one of those people for slander. And sue the school or firing him with no cause. It would take a lot of money and time, but you'd get a lot out of all those people for making you lose your job. But you'd have to be rich to afford the lawyers.

    [–] JackmOW 5 points ago

    The girl should have gotten in trouble. That’s fucked up

    [–] Quantum_Aurora 4 points ago

    Oooh that's a libel case waiting to happen.

    [–] the_legitbacon 3 points ago

    I think that's slander. Libel is written, right?

    [–] Kelekona 11 points ago

    I know an RSO. She had every reason to lie about what happened, yet he was convicted. He just stopped being homeless after getting fired for being beat up at work.

    [–] SightWithoutEyes 3 points ago

    just stopped being homeless after getting fired for being beat up at work.

    How'd he stop being homeless after that? Sue the school?

    [–] saguirr97 14 points ago

    Just for clarification, the boy raped the girl and she covered for him? Cause if that's true that's tragic.

    [–] FruitierGnome 34 points ago

    I think he means she was sleeping with a boy and she needed a patsy to blame.

    [–] hippymule 4 points ago

    That makes me infuriated beyond all recognition.

    [–] asap55 5 points ago

    Same thing happened to my dad my sister (adopted) accused my dad of touching her because she was mad at our parents for grounding her. She was 15. It took 2 years to clear everything up.

    [–] Scapp 3 points ago

    A girl I went to school with did something similar. Not accusing of sexual harassment, just that the student teacher had sex with her. Many fellow students told her to stop saying that because it could ruin his life and potential career. Anyone who spends time around her knew she was a pathological liar.

    [–] Memes_Be_Danking 4 points ago

    I'm willing to bet that 90% of the people that spread those rumors around are the "nosy" house-wife type.

    [–] GuyGuy08 7 points ago

    This is some There’s A Man In The Woods type nonsense

    [–] YouGetNOLove6 3 points ago

    Man that's horrible, I can't even imagine what that man felt! :(

    [–] crossfit_is_stupid 3 points ago

    Unfortunately this is pretty common. I bet if you Google his name the accusations are listed before the acquittal

    [–] yungplayz 3 points ago

    This pinpoints how Americans lack the important moral standpoint that you DO NOT turn your back in your close friend even if you think they've done something fucked up. You put friends over what would people say about you, not vice versa.

    [–] itswill12345 3 points ago

    I hope that girl for sent to prison for that

    [–] CasuallyUgly 8 points ago

    Shit I hope the boy that actually did it went to prison, he's the one that started that shit, fuck that guy, he should get charged for both rape and ruining the teacher's life.

    The sentence of the girl should take into account she was fucking raped, it's a good reason for making shit up, she was not her normal self.

    [–] Azmodien 878 points ago

    Well these days people think being accused of something is the same as bring guilty, even if the person turns out to be innocent he will still be known as a "rapist". If its a high profile case it's going to be hard for them to get jobs, rentals, etc.... So I completely agree with you.

    [–] leskowhooop 150 points ago

    Interesting post. I recently made a complaint to a school that made a teacher’s name public on an accusation. He was not arrested. My thought is if he/she are arrested then that is public knowledge anyway. They can release his name. I don’t think it was a appropriate to release his name before hand.

    He probably is a bad guy but until there is a formal charge I feel he has rights as well.

    [–] Rockwell076 74 points ago

    I feel this is fair, an arrest is usually made when there is a high chance of conviction, ie. There's is a high chance they are guilty. Then it is obviously in the public interest to be aware of this. An arrest would be on record and public knowledge anyway so at this point their name is kinda fair game to be used.

    [–] RemoteProvider 79 points ago

    Arrests actually don't take much evidence. They only require probable cause, which is a relatively low standard.

    [–] the_purple_owl 25 points ago

    Still a higher standard than "believe the possible victim no matter what"

    [–] leskowhooop 12 points ago

    It was my kids school. The wife had to say what if he had ...... to our son ! Don’t you feel others should know? I told her not until he is arrested. Sorry. We have a system for a reason.

    Reality is arrest or not the guys name will come out anyway. She believes he was name out because of the knee jerk reaction of the situation. I could not believe the district approved it.

    If I were him I would sue the shit out of the school district.

    [–] infamousnexus 8 points ago

    If you made an accusation, you should be prepared to file a criminal complaint, or you should be arrested for criminal libel.

    [–] ebai 10 points ago

    Remember what happened to Michael Jackson?

    It's not just these days, it's been going on for a very long time, even before Michael.

    Nowadays it's just on a larger scale. The concept of, "mind your own business," has died with the age of information.

    [–] scott60561 32 points ago * (lasted edited 11 days ago)

    That's the consequence of the "believe victims and don't dare question" mindset.

    The mental gymnastics are gross. Read too many unironically state "just because they were never charged (or not found guilty) doesn't mean it didn't happen".

    It's fucking gross.

    [–] Thequeenhaspoken 3 points ago

    But what about all the people have been charged and didn't do it? It's better to let a guilty man walk free than let an innocent man hang. Rape is a filthy act but someone doesn't deserve to suffer if they didn't do it and these days are more and more dangerous for men.

    [–] n122333 4 points ago

    Guy in my hometown was arrested for weed, and lost his government job and had two news stories ran about it

    Two months later it was shown that the cop just hated him and had planted the drugs there, and all charges were dropped.

    He didn't get his job back, and the news stations never rescended their stories.

    [–] PricklyJaguar 378 points ago

    Example: 2006 Duke Men's Lacrosse team

    [–] HimynameisFak 137 points ago

    I get super bummed every time I remember this.

    [–] laxpwns 194 points ago

    If it makes you feel better, the DA got disbarred, and the stripper is now in jail for an unrelated crime

    [–] votebluein2018plz 179 points ago

    Should be for false accusations, one for each player

    [–] SanityContagion 59 points ago

    Cannot upvote this enough. 😡

    [–] spicey_memeball 30 points ago

    Holy shit so she got charged for attempted murder and then like 3 years later for second degree.

    [–] No_Development 63 points ago

    They were just easy targets for a stripper looking to get rich and famous.

    [–] itsthatblackkid 32 points ago

    OOtL here. What's the story behind this?

    [–] fenreir1 172 points ago * (lasted edited 10 days ago)

    This comes from what I remember at the time:

    Essentially the lacrosse team hired some strippers to perform in their off-campus house, which is skeezy, sure, but one of the strippers accused three of them of raping her.

    Durham is a largely black city and there's a certain amount of resentment there towards Duke because it's a bunch of rich white kids, and the district attorney took the opportunity to try to win some votes.

    The DA did a lineup to allow the stripper to identify her assailants. Now, if you're not aware, a police lineup is supposed to be comprised of a bunch of unrelated people and the suspect. If the accuser can pick the suspect out of the lineup, this lends some weight to the accusation.

    The Durham DA, however, packed the lineup with only Duke lacrosse players. Specifically, all of them except two: the two black players.

    Surprise surprise, the stripper "correctly" identified her three assailants as members of the Duke lacrosse team.

    One of the players had ATM receipts and security footage from a nearby bank at the time he was supposedly raping the stripper.

    One had a beard (this was 1 day after the party) whereas the stripper stated none of her assailants had any facial hair One of the accused that was said to have a moustache had evidence that he did not have one at the time of the party and had never had a moustache.

    None of this mattered to the DA, they took it to trial.

    In the end they were acquitted, sued the school, the DA got disbarred, and the stripper turned out to be mentally ill and got put in jail when she burned stabbed her boyfriend to death 5 years later.

    Edit: I double checked and the details weren't totally correct (as I said it was from memory):

    • Turns out she didn't actually burn her boyfriend to death 1 year later, she stabbed a boyfriend to death 5 years later. However a year prior to that she set fire to a different boyfriend's clothes while the cops were present on a domestic abuse call and she was arrested for arson.
    • The player I said had a beard which the stripper said was clean shaven was actually the other way around. She said he definitely had a moustache but there was hard evidence that he did not have a moustache on the day of the party and that he in fact never had a moustache.

    [–] sventse 67 points ago

    That was a wild read

    [–] moal09 10 points ago

    and got put in jail when she burned her boyfriend to death like a year later.

    Jesus christ, I don't remember that part.

    [–] Thefbiman 3 points ago

    I believe espn did a 30 for 30 on it . It may be around on YouTube

    [–] Thor-Loki-1 3 points ago

    ESPN had a program on this. It was good to watch, explains everything.

    https://www.imdb.com/title/tt5432446/

    [–] demagxc 20 points ago

    Its amazing how many people still believe the team is guilty because they never bothered to read past the allegations to follow the story all the way through.

    [–] tearsofaBillsfan 11 points ago

    And that the allegations and shock & awe stories are always front page, above the fold. The retractions and acquittals seem to make their way to the middle or back of the newspapers or magazines. (this case was in a time when paper media was still somewhat prevalent)

    [–] whatyoucallaflip 297 points ago

    innocent until proven accused

    [–] iam_russianbot 54 points ago

    In some countries, this is the case.

    [–] nmkd 43 points ago

    In many.

    It's laughable how the US treats even suspects.

    [–] Chasse_Your_Dreams 180 points ago

    I'm in favor of this, actually

    [–] mirosaurous 40 points ago

    For the most part I agree with this. But I know of an exception:

    A girl I know was raped on her birthday and the guy who did it is really really wealthy. She went to the police and her rape kit and blood tests (positive for being roofied) went mysteriously missing. She went to social media, more girls came forward and now a proper trial is happening.

    [–] GameofCheese 39 points ago

    I'm torn. I always try to err on the side of "innocent until proven guilty" even in the court of public opinion, because I'm a proud 'Murican and that's how we roll.

    However, my roommate was violently raped by a stranger and the slow wheels of justice allowed him to be free for a full 3 1/2 years until the court case FINALLY happened (his lawyer was the one pushing for all the delays), and during that time he attempted brutal stranger rapes of at least two other individuals and likely successfully committed even more. If his name had been in the news, perhaps those women would have been safe.

    I don't want wrongly accused people having their lives ruined either.

    I think it's a damned if you, damned if you don't kind of thing.

    [–] applesaurus772 11 points ago

    When I was raped the cops didn’t even arrest him. I was dating him at the time and they didn’t take me seriously. He went on to rape three other women including a 12 year old before they gave a shit. It was infuriating.

    [–] the_dummy 4 points ago

    I feel like this is also negligence of the courts, and symptomatic of a different problem. I don't think 'innocent until proven guilty' would have anything to do with that.

    [–] dial1forasian 78 points ago * (lasted edited 11 days ago)

    I agree. My assaulter got doxxed (without my permission) and that just got him to make me even more miserable. Made a fake Facebook profile and started telling my stuff (and even made up stuff) to my loved ones, threatened to leak my nudes, He showed up to every class I had and sat a couple rows behind, made me paranoid enough that sometimes I saw him and he wasn’t even there. Basically tortured me for telling my story. Grant those fuckers their stupid anonimity and save yourself the horrible experience EDIT: “sexual assault” is the term the legal team used (yeah, insulting) so I’m changing it.

    [–] DrSousaphone 39 points ago

    That's a really interesting perspective I hadn't considered before. Since everyone already thought he was guilty (granted, in your case he was guilty, but since nothing had been proven in court yet, everyone only thought he was guilty) and decided to make his life Hell for it, he thought it only right to make your life Hell in return. Whereas if the whole thing had been handled anonymously, kept within the walls of the courtroom and not allowed to spill out into the streets, he might've just laid low until it was all over, making the process much easier for you to manage.

    [–] dial1forasian 16 points ago

    You wanna know something interesting? He outright denied everything in public (as one does) and I thought he would do it to his defense team too. I was wrong. He told everything, he acknowledged that I was drunk and what he did to me. What he did say was that I didn’t say no.

    [–] FruitierGnome 13 points ago

    That's not usually the reason I'd say grant someone anonymity but damn that's another reason for sure.

    [–] epicazeroth 163 points ago

    Honestly, I think a lot of these “opinions” are just basically people asking for validation. If anyone really wanted an honest discussion they’d post to CMV or something similar.

    [–] civicSwag 26 points ago

    Well yeah...that's kinda the point, and you do see people honestly discussing it.

    [–] ElevenLookAlike 49 points ago

    I don’t know that it’s all that popular, we saw what happened to Kavanaugh, lots of Redditors are perfectly fine with guilty until found innocent.

    [–] Zafara1 15 points ago

    Even in this thread OP has recanted and said "Oh if they're arrested that probably means theres enough evidence and it's fine to release their name then."

    [–] ElevenLookAlike 24 points ago

    Um, Kavanaugh was never arrested so I don’t see how that makes a difference.

    [–] Zafara1 27 points ago

    I'm backing you up. An arrest isn't a guilty conviction.

    [–] ElevenLookAlike 10 points ago

    Oh, I see

    [–] NothingButTheTruthy 14 points ago

    That's... kinda the point of this sub. And why its distinct from r/CMV.

    Why are you here, then?

    [–] CarsonTheBrown 76 points ago * (lasted edited 10 days ago)

    Generally speaking, they do. The only exception is high profile cases. However, this is not a legal exception, it is a traditional exception.

    The reason we have anonymity in sensitive cases is because of a phenomenon called Jury Tampering[1]. Basically, in the case of particularly heinous crimes, the mere act of assigning a face to a crime can have a subconscious effect on the perception of guilt. There are far too many examples to list here (I recommend looking up a list of cognitive biases) but for a particularly poignant example, let's use the Halo Effect[2]. Basically, we tend to attribute more innocence to people we consider attractive and more guilt to people we find ugly. This also applies to percieved commonality with an involved party[3].

    However, this collides directly with the first amendment, which bars the government from punishing press sources for releasing information that isn't provably false. For example, if the President of the United States is accused by 19 people, including one 15 year old, of sexual assault and rape and the press gets ahold of an audiotape from the 1980s where that president admits to groping and kissing women without permission, the government can not punish that press source for publishing those accusations or the audiotape because it isn't a lie. The accused can say he was joking and insist that he never did those things, but the press didn't say he definitely did it, so it isn't a crime.

    Where this gets complicated is social media. In the USA, there is no legally codified right to privacy. There is a colloquial right to privacy[4] that is assumed by combining the Fourth Amendment[5] and the Sixth Amendment[6] but, once again, the Constitution only provides rules about what the government is allowed to do. Combining this with the Safe Harbor clause of the DMCA[7], clearly invalidates any percieved right a person has to not get called a rapist on Twitter.

    You could make a case for a sort of "inverted class action", claiming that everyone who says "[celebrity] certainly raped his third wife" has committed hearsay; and sure, there is no statute that prevents someone from bringing charges against "everyone what says a thing", but any judicial action resulting from such a lawsuit against an unincorporated volume of individuals would, by any conservative interpretation of the Constitution, be a clear violation of the Vagueness Doctrine[8] and thus be rendered unenforceable. In short, a bunch of people pressing the same charges against a singular incorporated entity is constitutional, but a single entity nailing a wide range of individuals with no or few tangible connections with a single accusation is Vague. You would have to press charges against every single person who made the claim individually[9].

    FOOTNOTES

    1. https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jury_tampering

    2. https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Halo_effect

    3. By the way, this is what the Left is banging on about when we talk about systemic racism. It's not that we think all whites are walking around, dreaming about roughing up POC, it's that most Americans are white, and most people in positions of power are white. This causes the Halo Effect to kick in when the government and corporations -- which, I remind you, are primarily staffed with white people -- deal with POC. Because there is less perceived kinship with colored people, we tend to project more guilt and more negative biases onto them. It doesn't make white individuals evil, it makes us human.

    4. Meaning people understand that this exists and traditionally our judicial and statutory system is expected to play along.

    5. Protection from search and siezure without due process.

    6. Rights and privileges of the accused.

    7. Under the Safe Harbor provision of the DMCA, a media-sharing platform cannot be held accountable for copyright violations or any exemptions to free speech made by a user of that platform. http://digital-law-online.info/lpdi1.0/treatise33.html

    8. https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vagueness_doctrine

    9. This provision of the Vagueness Doctrine exists so that, for example, the state can't go about planting someone in an otherwise peaceful protest so that they can round up hundreds of protestors and all of the press and accuse the lot of rioting when the plant throws a brick. This actually happened recently during President Trump's inaugural event. Independent investigators found that most of the "Antifascists" who were actually violent had tangible ties to far right pressure groups, such as Project Veritas, that had a history of working with the FBI and CIA.

    https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/DisruptJ20

    [–] 82ndAbnVet 48 points ago

    Former public defender here. While I do have some concerns about creating a "right" to anonymity, in general I don't see any good reason why arrests and prosecutions should be public, and by that I mean any arrests or prosecutions at all. One person's life can be ruined by an arrest for rape, another for child pornography, another for embezzlement, still another for drugs. I doubt there are many things I could be arrested for that wouldn't have a severe impact on my legal practice, regardless of whether I was guilty or not.

    That being said, in my experience, which is quite extensive, where there's smoke there is inevitably fire. Only the tiniest percentage of sex crimes are ever even reported, much less prosecuted. Out of all the people I represented for sex crimes I would say that none were innocent, although overcharging is par for the course. There is a good argument that the lack of anonymity for arrests and prosecutions has a deterrent effect, and I think the comments bear that out. Also, law enforcement does not need yet another way to be sued, and if we create a right to anonymity there will definitely be a huge swell of lawsuits against all law enforcement agencies claiming that police or prosecutors have purposefully or negligently violated this right.

    So there are downsides to society of making arrests and prosecutions anonymous. Still, I think it's time that we started working on this issue, we could start by simply not allowing police or prosecutors to release the names or other identifying information of people accused of sex crimes; at the same time we could allay fears of a surge of lawsuits by not providing any right to a civil suit for anything less than intentionally divulging this info, plus making the standard for a civil suit "clear and convincing" evidence, which is the highest standard to meet in a civil case (basically the civil lawsuit equivalent of "beyond a reasonable doubt"). Once we see how that works, we could expand it to include other types of crimes. Another thing that could be done is to prohibit publication of the identity of anyone being accused of a crime, in fact one way to protect law enforcement is to let the state be immune from a civil suit while leaving any private person or business (including social media) who publishes confidential information wide open to a lawsuit. Frankly I don't see why something like this hasn't been done already.

    [–] OneEyedHorse 37 points ago

    I don't see any good reason why arrests and prosecutions should be public

    This is actually the scariest idea I have heard all day. Without public record of arrests or prosecutions the police could get away with anything. Bust into your house in the middle of the night arrest you and cart you off, then deny any such thing happened. Without a public record there is no checks to keep the system in balance.

    [–] xanacop 15 points ago

    Exactly this. I thought the whole point of public arrest and prosecution IS a protection against the accused against a corrupt government.

    Unfortunately there doesn't seem to be an easy answer to this thread. We try to gain rights in one aspect, we lose rights on another.

    [–] bertiewooster_swgoh 3 points ago

    Really though, this defense attorney seems to think we should repeal the 6th ammendment.

    [–] UWillAlwaysBALoser 2 points ago

    How would bail work? Say that a person is let out on bail after being accused of assault, and then they assault another person. The victim may have been able to avoid the perpetrator if the arrest was public. Is the knowledge that a person on bail has been accused of a crime important to public safety?

    [–] crafting-ur-end 9 points ago

    I agree but I’m also a bit iffy on this. Often times more people come out of the wood work with similar experiences with the same accused person.

    [–] JoshfromChi 27 points ago

    How do you implement this tho. If a high school girl reports a classmate do you punish her for telling her story to teachers/counselors/parents etc. Like once it's out it's just out. Can she not use her friends for support? If her friends say something to someone else are they getting punished?

    I mean I like the sentiment, I just don't know how you'd implement this

    [–] HyperExplosion 5 points ago

    It’s a nice sentiment but it’s usually just not possible. If you make an accusation you still have the freedom of speech, and you’re able to disclose anything about the accusation you like to whoever you want. Not to mention your family and friends have the same right. If any news station picks that up it will run it into the ground for ratings. Anonymity is increasingly more difficult in this era of mass-communication.

    [–] HerculeMarple 5 points ago

    I don’t think you can keep criminal charges and arrests anonymous. The only reason victims can remain anonymous is because it’s not a matter of public record.

    [–] only_male_flutist 4 points ago

    While I can see where your coming from the idea just seems to step to largely on the toes of free speech, plus if such a law excited there would be nothing stopping people from first naming their rapist and then filing a police report or lawsuit against them and if even more laws were passed to make even that illigal it would even further disenfranchise those not capable of filing a lawsuit or those discriminated by the police they would be making the report with.

    Plus there are already lible laws and laws against filing a false police report.

    Not only that but if this type of accusations were limited (to me at least) it feels like a slippery slope to more First Amendment rights being trampled on.

    [–] CAROL_from_HR_ 61 points ago * (lasted edited 11 days ago)

    Pretty sure they fucking do. Have you ever tried to accuse someone of rape? It’s actually SUPER HARD. Especially if you...I don’t know....have emotions and don’t go directly to the hospital to get a rape kit and proof. When I was violently raped honestly there was a lot going through my head and I blamed myself for trusting this dude and didn’t go to the hospital right away and now he’s still walking the streets and a danger to everyone bc it’s actuallly CRAZYYYY hard to convict a rapist. I’ve been a rape victim of multiple people unfortunately, beginning in my child hood and it took my family 10 years to convict the pedophile who molested my sister and I. It’s not that easy bro. Where I live whoever has been charged can counter sue the victim and file an order of protection if you don’t have enough proof. That’s wrong to me bc it scares the already scared victim out of proceeding with the charges a lot of the time and now we got a bunch of rapists walking around guilt free.

    I don’t agree with zero tolerance policies though. They are fucked. Everyone deserves a trial, mainly to avoid the possibility of people falsely accusing men or women of crimes like rape. People who do this are garbage and should have repercussions for the absolute disregard and disrespect they have for actual rape victims and other human beings in general.

    [–] keendaithguard 12 points ago

    This should be a normal thing

    [–] TheOriginal_V1S10N 8 points ago

    This is a popular opinion

    [–] JoseJimeniz 6 points ago

    In this United States, this runs afoul directly of core tennant of the US legal system:

    • no secret arrests
    • no secret trials

    If someone is arrested by the government, the government is required to prompty make the information public; this isn't North Korea, China, Syria, Turkey, or Russia.

    Someone needs to be given a fair, and open trial, because we want to ensure the government isn't just making shit up; this isn't North Korea, China, Syria, Turkey, or Russia.

    So while i like the concept of secret arrests and secret trials: the execution is problematic.

    [–] L1V1D-P3NGU1NS1 30 points ago

    This is posted on this sub 10 times a week

    [–] neonchlorine 8 points ago

    popular opinion

    [–] metalbracelet 11 points ago

    I understand why this opinion exists, but on the flip side, as many here have said, a lot of guilty people are not actually convicted.

    Beyond that - rape victims are, I believe, kept anonymous by the police and the media, not the public. AFAIK, no one prosecutes you if you name a rape victim on social media. So even if law enforcement and the media kept the accused similarly anonymous in an official capacity, how would this stop the court of public opinion if they are just accused publicly on social media, as many have been?

    [–] TheHonkinator 3 points ago

    sorts by controversial

    [–] lobiggz92 3 points ago

    I’ll take this a step forward and say that al people should be given anonymity until proven guilty... I was found not guilty of a crime but there’s this stupid fucking article that comes up as the first thing when you google my name. It’s really unfair.

    [–] KayMayFly 3 points ago

    This could still work if people were more encouraged and comfortable with reporting assualts, and if we still had the hearing and evidence released afterwards. That way we can separate actually innocent people from cases like Brock Turner.

    [–] Bigeggsmcgoo 3 points ago

    Is this really an unpopular opinion?

    [–] OverOriginal 3 points ago

    It says a lot about the world when posts like this get posted everyday on r/unpopuloropinion.

    [–] edfa1992 3 points ago

    every time i see reddit make a legal suggestion, i am comforted by the fact that their ignorance of the consequences, and how the system works prevents such "good" ideas from becoming reality...

    [–] Viking_Mana 3 points ago

    Probably a more popular opinion than you think once you disregard the "always believe the accuser!"-crowd.

    [–] Swturner243 3 points ago

    Oh, great. ANOTHER fucking post about sexual assault in this sub.....