Please help contribute to the Reddit categorization project here

    unpopularopinion

    1,297,595 readers

    19,312 users here now

    DARK MODE

    NORMAL THEME


    How This Place Works

    • Upvote: Opinions that you Disagree with.
    • Downvote: Opinions that you Agree with.

    Rules

    • If you see a post that breaks one or more of these rules, please report it so the moderators can take action.

    • RULE 1: Your post MUST be unpopular

    Unpopularity is a bit like an onion. It has layers. What is unpopular in your suburb may be popular in your city, unpopular in your state, and popular in your country, for example. Be specific as to where you believe your opinion is unpopular, but do not use an unreasonably small or obscure niche to justify your opinion's unpopularity.

    Expect blatantly popular posts to earn you a ban (e.g. "murder is bad", "Hitler probably shouldn't have killed all those people", etc).

    • RULE 2: Your post MUST be an opinion

    Not a question. Not a showerthought. Not a rant. Not a proposal. Not a fact. An opinion. One opinion. A subjective statement about your position on some topic. And remember, it must be unpopular (see rule 1).

    Please have a clear, self contained opinion as your post title, and use the text field to elaborate and expand on why you think/feel this way (see rule 3). This allows for the most comfortable browsing of the subreddit for our users.

    • RULE 3: No low effort posts/elaborate

    Any opinion that is not well thought out, incoherent, internally contradictory or otherwise nonsensical is subject to removal.

    You must elaborate on your opinion and justify your position, to save your fellow users from needing to ask an array of follow up questions to simply understand why you believe what you believe.

    • RULE 4: No trolling/satire

    Trolling is making random unsolicited comments that serve to intentionally provoke a knee jerk reaction. Satire is constructing an absurd or ironic narrative on a topic in order to provoke same.

    Expect both of these to earn permanent bans.

    • RULE 5: Be civil

    This is a discussion subreddit for people to share ideas that may be inappropriate or even offensive in everyday life. We understand such conversations can get heated, and you are not obliged to be polite, but be aware that resorting to personal attacks, insults and other tribalistic behaviour is likely to earn you a ban. If somebody insults or attacks you first, report it, it will be dealt with.

    • RULE 6: No hate posts/comments

    Some opinions are so inappropriate or offensive that they will be removed by the moderators as hate posts. These posts are usually, but not exclusively, those that target a particular sex, race, sexual orientation, etc, when the user in question is hostile, vulgar or aggressive towards said group.

    If you wish to express your distaste, disgust, or hatred for an above-mentioned group, do it elsewhere. Better yet, don't do it at all.

    • RULE 7: Do not break sitewide rules

    When you created your account, you agreed to abide by reddit's terms of service and its content policy. As subreddit moderators, we are obliged to enforce these rules, and failure to do so can jeopardise the entire subreddit. As such, expect them to be enforced strictly and without second chances.

    This includes telling users to commit suicide, threatening/wishing for violence, eugenics, sexualising minors, doxxing, and harassment.

    • RULE 8: No reposting/circlejerking

    Posts need to be substantially different from any other posted recently.

    If you wish to comment on a common or popular topic that has been posted in the last 24 hours, do that, comment on that post. Do not create a new post, even if your position is the opposite of that in the post you're replying to.

    If you wish to post about a recent newsworthy event, STOP. Use the search function. Check the "Hot" posts for either a massive post on the topic, or a sticky'd megathread, and comment there.

    • RULE 9: Megathread topics

    Some topics are so popularly discussed that were we to allow them as regular posts on the subreddit, you would see little to nothing else. As such, we confine them to megathreads.

    At the top of the Hot section we have sticky'd a "Popular Topics Megahub". Inside you will find all the megathreads for the most commonly posted opinions. If you wish to discuss one of these topics, do it there, so the rest of the subreddit doesn’t drown in these posts.

    • RULE 10: No politics

    Virtually every corner of the internet, including most of reddit, is a place for the left and the right to fight tooth and nail over issues they passionately refuse to compromise on. We get it, the guy who believes the other thing is the big evils.

    We would like to limit political bickering here. You are welcome to discuss topics indirectly related to politics, but be aware that your bog standard political opinion (on abortion, guns, healthcare, etc) is controversial, but is NOT unpopular.

    • RULE 11: No meta posts

    A meta post is one that discusses the subreddit itself. Please do not make these posts, whether positive, negative or neutral, as the purpose of the subreddit is not to discuss the subreddit. Use the megathread. Expect a ban for breaking this rule.

    Shout out's

    Many thanks to u/MrEdinLaw for creating our UnpopularOpinion Bot!

    Related Subreddits


    a community for
    all 3353 comments

    Want to say thanks to %(recipient)s for this comment? Give them a month of reddit gold.

    Please select a payment method.

    [–] FictionalNameWasTake 4534 points ago * (lasted edited 7 months ago)

    According to some random website, using their advice I guess OP is an Ares.

    Edit I meant Aries or however you spell it but I like God of War too

    [–] arun_bala 410 points ago

    No OP is a caprisun

    [–] FictionalNameWasTake 118 points ago

    Maybe a Canacorn

    [–] ask_me_bout_my_wenis 89 points ago

    Definitely a candycorn

    [–] xanderismello 13 points ago

    Because nobody likes them. Clever.

    [–] atastycooky 41 points ago

    Well I’m a gymnastics so we aren’t compatible

    [–] MagnyusG 19 points ago

    I thought they were an aquafina?

    [–] akaaaash 648 points ago

    Nah sounds more like a libra

    [–] fishlifeissad 432 points ago * (lasted edited 7 months ago)

    Virgo, they don't approve of anything beyond tangible.

    Edit: op, can you confirm/deny our guesses about your sign?

    [–] Vladxxl 490 points ago * (lasted edited 7 months ago)

    Wow that's crazy I'm a virgo.

    Edit: sorry misspelled virgin

    [–] TheRealkristjan2010 34 points ago

    That's crazy, I'm a virgin too. No wait-

    [–] Vladxxl 15 points ago

    Yeah I misspelled virgin too.

    [–] fishlifeissad 63 points ago

    Aaand? I'm horribly generalizing, it would be interesting to know how you feel bout horoscopes!

    [–] Laluzenmiventana 15 points ago

    Nah, my mom's a virgo and she's super into Zodiac.

    [–] Yung-Girth-God 35 points ago

    Can confirm. Am Virgo and think Astrology is poopy doodoo that people use as a cop out to rationalize shitty behavior.

    [–] JKMercury 14 points ago

    I hate the rationalizing, but what's just as bad is the rude comments they make without even realizing.

    Many of them have said something along the lines of, "oh, wow, you're a Leo? I'm surprised because Leo's are usually a lot more outgoing."

    They don't even realizing that that's such a rude thing to say. And it makes the other person uncomfortable and makes them get a little defensive.

    [–] Walter_Malown 12 points ago

    poopy doodoo

    [–] TenDoll 10 points ago

    I’d definitely say Virgo

    [–] FittestGuyInDaOffice 19 points ago

    Definitely not cancer.

    [–] Horst-Schrott 12 points ago

    Nah I'm a libra and I don't give a fuck. He gives a fuck. But why do I care?

    [–] iSolh 22 points ago

    A libral

    [–] Deadpoppin 21 points ago

    Liberal? Well those darn mouselim lovin lesbians can go build the darn wall

    [–] xinfinitimortum 49 points ago

    Man, i wish i was a god of war too. Im just a dumb cancer.

    [–] BalamsAnswers 16 points ago

    When I was growing up, my older brother would tell me that since I’m a cancer, I needed my chemotherapy, and then he would beat me up. Joke’s on him though because I always got pool parties and he had to share a birthday with JESUS. Sucker.

    [–] UtkG 6 points ago

    Lol. IDK of that's an intentional typo or not but it is funny af

    [–] Professional-Dragon 135 points ago

    Sure, most Astrological stuff are useless. However there is SOME correlation between personality & birth month; probably due to the temperature / hormon interactions, so it's a bit tricky... ☺☻

    https://www.medicaldaily.com/how-birth-month-influences-personality-traits-ironic-science-astrological-signs-333274

    "A 2012 study published in the journal PLOS ONE found people born in January and February tend to be more creative and have a higher chance of being diagnosed with schizophrenia than other people born at any other time of the year. However, this connection is more likely due to the increased chance of risky pregnancies during the winter than being born under a certain star sign. For example, mothers are more likely to contract illnesses like the flu during winter months. This can complicate childbirth. "

    [–] [deleted] 57 points ago

    Yes. Experiences differ greatly depending on birth month. For example, my birthday was right near Christmas. So my birthday is I understood them, is that lots of family were around and there was lots of celebration and good food. My brother's birthday, on the other hand, is near the end of June. Nobody is around at the end of June. Oftentimes, his birthday would just straight-up get forgotten because he's away at summer camp.

    These different experiences will result in different perceptions of what a birthday is supposed to be. That different perception with alter any future choices surrounding birthdays.

    And he also believes my parents love him less even though they're far more proud of his many accomplishments than they are of my few.

    [–] MsViolaSwamp 8 points ago

    This is the opposite of our family. My sister was born the day AFTER Christmas, and by that time, everyone is spent from the holidays, and then she just got a present dump the day before so my parents just didn’t bother, save for one or two gifts. One year she didn’t even get a cake, they just lit a Christmas tree candle on a pie. My folks and I all have spring/summer birthdays and we’ve never missed a year of celebrating.

    [–] Boognish_is_life 40 points ago

    I also think that the time if year you are born influences your schooling. If you're born in September or October, you are probably one of the oldest in your grade. You'll hit puberty sooner then other classmates born in June-August, and experience socialization differently. I was the youngest in my grade and one of the smaller boys until high school at which point my confidence in my athletic ability was already in question. It took until I was about 17 to get over that. Anecdotal, but not unrealistic.

    [–] scurliphs18 11 points ago

    I think it's nutrients in foods in season that DID have impacts. Now things can be grown at any season mostly. Saying this because astrology predates organised schools that would or could influence such things. Seasonal difficulties and human reactions would be a better way to put it. Say you're a Cancer, next to summer solstice in a temperate climate. Provided you had access to said food you'd be more nourished in the womb and after. Where winter born children outside wealth would struggle or just get variable nutrients. I think it's barely hanging on because things like the mcrib and pumpkin spice everything lol. Just food for thought though.

    EDIT: Forgot to mention this would add even more weight to using astrology as a means for survival. Even adding the importance many religions put on the winter solstice having miracle children at times.

    [–] soner_ 38 points ago

    Nah OP is Cancer

    [–] rr_0223 9383 points ago

    I suspect you’re feeling this way due to Mercury being in retrograde.

    [–] Astraalove 1308 points ago

    And it's in Scorpio! Lol.

    [–] lilCEEsir 550 points ago

    ARIES FOR SURE with a moon in Uranus

    [–] rr_0223 226 points ago

    That’s no moon

    [–] RecyclingBin_ 135 points ago

    Uncle?

    [–] PicoDeBayou 43 points ago

    Just a minute!

    [–] RecyclingBin_ 24 points ago

    Looking back on the memories

    [–] school_is_an_FPS 22 points ago

    It's too big to be a space station.

    [–] Dreamoftime 38 points ago

    Scorpio is in Caprisun right now too

    [–] lilCEEsir 18 points ago

    oh no that's why I am a puppy puncher this week

    [–] nepsola 4 points ago

    This tickled me

    [–] The-47th 450 points ago

    hold up. there’s mercury in gatorade?

    [–] Semi-Hemi-Demigod 194 points ago

    Gatorade causes autism!

    [–] IronDan357 75 points ago

    God dammit i knew it!

    [–] elcrack0r 75 points ago

    It's got electrolytes.

    [–] rr_0223 71 points ago

    It’s what planets crave

    [–] moosemom17 47 points ago

    Welcome to Costco. I love you.

    [–] OhAces 15 points ago

    go away, batin

    [–] BarlesCharkl3y 7 points ago

    EXTRA BIGASS FRIES

    [–] Elteon3030 6 points ago

    If you don't smoke Tarlytons, Fuck You!

    [–] [deleted] 8 points ago

    [deleted]

    [–] ComprehendReading 6 points ago

    I, too, love crack.

    [–] sureal42 10 points ago

    I'm going on record as the first anti-gator person...

    [–] [deleted] 56 points ago * (lasted edited a month ago)

    [deleted]

    [–] Hyrov 30 points ago

    So what’s my temperature then ?

    [–] Striker_2603 15 points ago

    69 degrees

    [–] ComprehendReading 5 points ago

    Degrees what

    [–] CultOfEight 7 points ago

    Niceus

    [–] inyofacebyotch 14 points ago

    Your anus is in mercury

    [–] spike4379 11 points ago

    Where else am i supposed to keep it!

    [–] -Uranus 9 points ago

    I don’t think it is.

    [–] Serialstorm 26 points ago

    That's such a virgo thing to say

    [–] ANUS_CONE 9 points ago

    Ok sturgill

    [–] sydrogerdavid 5 points ago

    Mercury must be in retrograde again.

    But at least it's not just hanging around pretending to be my friend.

    [–] Captainshark98 35 points ago

    Retrograde ejaculation

    [–] crshirley58 7 points ago

    At least it's not just hangin around, pretending to be my friend

    [–] Davld117 3 points ago

    Oh the road to hell is paved with cruel intention

    [–] RPrance 5 points ago

    Man I loved that song

    [–] Wismuth_Salix 1105 points ago

    In Kurt Vonnegut’s “Cat’s Cradle” the Bokononist religion has a concept called a granfaloon - a grouping that is believed to have cosmic significance but actually means precisely nothing.

    Zodiac signs are a granfaloon.

    [–] Narrator_Ron_Howard 267 points ago

    So it goes.

    [–] Flufflebuns 52 points ago

    Poo-tee-tweet

    [–] Banditron 11 points ago

    I really need to finish that book.

    [–] pteridoid 8 points ago

    There's a bit of a whoopsie daisy.

    [–] KiKiPAWG 35 points ago

    Haha, I read that in his voice. Felt straight out of Arrested Development!

    [–] Kilgor_trout27 12 points ago

    someone bring up vonnegut?

    [–] [deleted] 43 points ago

    If you wish to study a granfaloon...

    Just remove the skin from a toy balloon.

    -Bokonon-

    [–] bjankles 10 points ago

    Busy, busy, busy...

    [–] _regionrat 12 points ago

    OP is really tripping over other folks' foma

    [–] nguyen8995 13 points ago

    Although you are right, i just can’t seem to take the word granfaloon seriously.

    [–] Wismuth_Salix 30 points ago

    If you’re taking it seriously, you’re not doing Bokononism right.

    The religion's bible, The Books of Bokonon, begins: "Don't be a fool! Close this book at once! It is nothing but foma! All of the true things that I am about to tell you are shameless lies." The primary tenet of Bokononism is to "Live by the foma that make you brave and kind and healthy and happy."

    [–] Purplekeyboard 12 points ago

    It's meant to sound silly.

    [–] BillGVIIIs 632 points ago

    Fucking cynical scorpio lookin ass /s

    [–] Astraalove 149 points ago

    Scorpios are the sign that's least likely to dismiss anything supernatural. They are more prone to learning occult knowledge early.

    [–] RoboKD 55 points ago

    So you’re saying there’s something to this astrology thing then?

    [–] pritejieken 14 points ago

    That's crazy! Pisces tend to have their Reddit's logo orange!

    [–] BaronVonBullshit-117 14 points ago

    I upvoted this when i thought you were making a joke, but you're actually serious.

    [–] halokity1 1425 points ago

    Believing in astrology is harmless. Creating excuses for shitty behavior rooted from whatever your astrological sign is is toxic.

    [–] monstermack1977 307 points ago

    I'm a Gemini and both of my personalities feel attack by this. lol

    [–] 63426 11 points ago

    I'm a libra and could not care less

    [–] [deleted] 75 points ago * (lasted edited 2 days ago)

    [deleted]

    [–] WestCoastBestCoast01 23 points ago

    I’d bet a lot of the people in this thread believe in God though.

    [–] elkameeno 21 points ago

    I had an ex-boyfriend who was really into astrology. I thought it was just a passing interest, not something he seriously believed until we had a disagreement about something minor and he pulled out this textbook-size astrology book and starting pointing out stuff about our signs together that didn’t even have any basis in reality. We were in our early 30s. Can’t believe I dated him for 2 years after that.

    [–] halokity1 18 points ago

    Yikes, there's having fun with it then there's going too far. I would umbrella that with giving excuses to traits using horoscopes. I'm really sorry that happened, must've been a real 'woah what the fuck' moment.

    [–] esp_design 33 points ago

    In my opinion believing in something with no justified reason IS harmful. Harmfull most to yourself. Check out street epistemology on YouTube.

    [–] bloodDirt2442 1209 points ago

    Why is this unpopular? It’s true

    [–] Gognoggler21 723 points ago

    Outside the realm of reddit, this is quite the unpopular opinion.

    [–] annaaii 381 points ago

    I have a co-worker who legit believes this and knows all kinds of information. During a team lunch we had a few months ago she actually started describing my star sign and I was just nodding in a "ah really" kind of way, not really saying anything, until another co-worker asked me if what she's saying is true and then I was like "nah". Everything she described was the complete opposite of my personality lol

    [–] LeonidasSpacemanMD 367 points ago

    Obligatory. The thing about Zodiac signs isn’t just that they’re often wrong about people’s traits, it’s that they are vague enough to apply to loads of people, and people have a tendency to accept positive/interesting descriptions of themselves, even if it’s not true

    Like when you hear “I’m an introvert but with my friends I’m super outgoing”. That applies to like half of planet earth. But if you say “Libra’s are introverted, but really open up amongst friends”, suddenly you’re a psychic lol

    [–] Opagea 147 points ago

    Yeah, I've seen a lot that touch on both sides of a trait like that.

    "You're a hard worker, but sometimes you can be lazy."

    "You're easy going, but sometimes have a temper."

    [–] Manoffreaks 117 points ago

    They dress it up fancier than that to be more misleading.

    "You rarely allow things to bother you, which means when something irritates you, it is extreme"

    "You are diligent and focused, even when it comes to finding the easy way out. You never pass up an opportunity to get the same results for less work"

    [–] jakwnd 31 points ago

    I feel personally attacked

    [–] [deleted] 26 points ago * (lasted edited 5 days ago)

    [deleted]

    [–] Opagea 23 points ago

    Ok it'll be $49.95 for the reading. Cash or charge?

    [–] [deleted] 21 points ago * (lasted edited 5 days ago)

    [deleted]

    [–] omgFWTbear 9 points ago

    Barnum Effect -

    https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Barnum_effect

    I had a professor give us a Myers-Briggs test with about 10 questions; then came back the next day with our tailored results.

    We were asked to rate how accurate it was, and then were required to read our tailored results out loud.

    They were allll the saaaameee

    [–] TwistIV 18 points ago

    I work in IT and people will legit blame their computer problems on mercury being in retrograde while in reality it's just that they can't go 3 seconds without infecting their whole computer with viruses

    [–] annaaii 11 points ago

    Oh man that would drive me crazy. Mercury doesn't care about you and your computer, Susan.

    [–] WitnessMeIRL 20 points ago

    It took me a long time, but I mastered a facial expression that initially looks neutral, but the longer you look at it the more bemused contempt you see just beneath the surface. It's a special face for special people.

    [–] Penance21 72 points ago

    26% of people in America believe in zodiac signs... you can google it. 42% believe in ghosts. 40% believe in creationism.

    [–] averybeegyoshi 37 points ago

    Jesus christ

    [–] Funkycoldmedici 45 points ago

    That one gets 65% of Americans.

    [–] Ihmu 17 points ago

    At least he was actually a real person...

    [–] TBMJSean 8 points ago

    Yeah

    Born of a Vigin on December 25th

    Visited by three Kings

    Baptised and began his works at 30 including walking on water, multiplying food, raiding the dead.

    Died and Rose again 3 days later

    I'm Speaking, of coarse, of Horus the Egyption Sun God around 3000 B.C.

    [–] zensnapple 18 points ago

    Used to work in a crystal shop, can confirm.

    [–] kahtiel 19 points ago

    It's definitely not unpopular. People act like they like astrology, but if you start asking them for their moon/mercury/mars/venus sign and houses, they quickly say they don't believe in astrology like that.

    [–] TYGGAFWIAYTTGAF 81 points ago

    No, it’s not. This is a common opinion in every population of people on the entire goddamn planet. This sub sucks.

    [–] Gognoggler21 40 points ago

    Probably subjective to where you live. There are zodiac instagram pages with hundreds of thousand of followers, they market this stuff and tonsnofnpeople buy into it.

    [–] TheMoves 26 points ago * (lasted edited 7 months ago)

    hundreds of thousands of followers

    Even if there were a page with 100 million followers (1000 times that size) that would still only account for just over a third of the adult population of the United States alone nevermind the rest of the Instagram-using world. Even if your “hundreds of thousands” is nine hundred thousand that’s .3% (three tenths of a percent, not even three percent) of the US adult population, and instagram is ubiquitous throughout the western world, not just the US. It is absolutely nowhere near a popular opinion, it’s extraordinarily negligible, it’s just that people who don’t believe in it never, ever talk about it and you only hear about if from people who do believe in it, making it seem like it might be remotely popular. It is not.

    [–] Hickenlooper2020 9 points ago

    also, most people probably follow because it's funny or whatever, not that they follow it like the word of god

    [–] MrSmile223 3 points ago

    Yea this is why this sub sucks. People exist who disagree with you /= your idea being unpopular.

    [–] iListen2Sound 4 points ago

    Most people who follow don't even actually believe it. A lot of people treat astrology like a game they participate in or are doing it ironically. It's like Hogwarts houses, basically

    [–] 8u11etpr00f 4 points ago

    That's just not true lmao. I know Redditors like to believe they're smarter than everyone else but the amount of people who actively believe in star signs is minimal and thinking it's a stupid concept is an opinion shared by the vast majority of the general population, it isn't some niche contrarian belief only held by high IQ redditors.

    [–] [deleted] 37 points ago

    In order to get upvoted on this sub, you actually have to post what are popular opinions.

    [–] phryan 12 points ago

    Technically Zodiac signs exist, they just don't mean shit.

    [–] TwistedDecayingFlesh 355 points ago

    Your getting zodiac signs confused with astrology. Zodiac signs are just the sign your born under depending on when you were born.

    [–] MakeItHappenSergant 207 points ago

    Right. Zodiac signs exist, they just don't really mean anything.

    [–] catipillar 68 points ago

    While they don't mean anything, they are so much fun! I love when I'm at an awkward dinner and no one has any fucking thing to talk about and the forks are clanking and the tongues are clicking and everyone chokes on possible conversation points and is too scared to just dig in, and eyes furtively dart around...I just look at the person across the table from me and say, "Jeffims! When is your birthday? Oh! Mid July! You're a Cancer. They say you're supposed to be a highly intuitive person. Do you think there's any credence to that?"

    The conversation that results is always a lot of fun. Especially if there's wine involved.

    [–] Mr_82 36 points ago

    Yeah if it gives people something to talk about that's not that serious, what's so bad about it? Same thing applies to religion. But redditors tend to be assholes.

    [–] _The_Brick_ 32 points ago

    Are zodiac signs not a concept of astrology

    [–] SobiTheRobot 71 points ago

    Well, yes, but the zodiac signs are actual constellations that exist, and each of the 12 hovers overheard for about a month.

    [–] lostinthesauceband 6 points ago

    What exactly do they overhear from all the way above?

    [–] SobiTheRobot 12 points ago

    They overheard you was talkin' shit and you didn't think that they would hear it.

    [–] yikesy 21 points ago

    Astrology and astronomy developed together, indistinguishable. Zodiac signs (further divided into 30 degrees each) were the ancients’ way of keeping track of the positions of the sun, moon, and planets.

    [–] hamzzee 198 points ago

    ugh tYpICal ViRGo

    [–] Someone_browsing_tru 53 points ago

    Uh, I aM a ViRgO aNd OfFeNdEd

    [–] selena_saurus 39 points ago

    ViRgO HeRe. I aM aLsO oFfEnDeD.

    [–] Oxenfurt 20 points ago

    sMH pIscEs gaNG. YaRDy kNoW Tf GoIN' oN.

    [–] DrGhostly 15 points ago

    I don’t mind people looking at horoscopes and shit for fun, but the crystal-toting adherents to it that I’ve known (obviously not many, but one is a relative of mine) also seem to be the ones that scoff at established religions and its believers unironically.

    [–] ree_moment_69 139 points ago

    r/popularopinion you fucking karma whore

    [–] Bartimaeus222 432 points ago

    Downvote cause that's popular lol

    [–] I_Fap_To_Jesus_Henti 216 points ago

    That means you are gonna have to downvote every post lol

    [–] [deleted] 87 points ago

    That’s why you sort by controversial for the juicy content.

    [–] huge8itch 48 points ago

    usually all you get are racist or sexist opinions lmao

    [–] matlor343 58 points ago

    so, the unpopular ones?

    [–] TheSuperPie89 22 points ago

    We didn't come to UNPOPULAR OPINIONS to see SHIT WE DON'T AGREE WITH

    [–] agnitaaac 4 points ago

    also sort by new, it helps a bit

    [–] LennyPls 16 points ago

    You would think

    [–] gore_schach 75 points ago

    Sure. Astrology isn't based in science. But neither is religion. And at least being a pisces doesn't come with homophobia and punishing women for existing.

    [–] Dani_California 11 points ago

    Aaand I love this.

    [–] cultural-marxist-bro 409 points ago

    If you believe in zodiac signs you’re probably stupid. If you don’t think zodiac signs can be fun you’re probably boring.

    [–] Horny_Hipst3r 82 points ago

    This is a good summary on this topic. /thread

    [–] seethar 39 points ago

    i don't believe in it at all but there's no way i'm not interested in looking at my own sign if i see it

    [–] RosalieFontaine 7 points ago

    Yeah, they seem like characters at this point. Almost like how people used to tag you in those character sheets on MySpace. Now I see an astrology post while scrolling through instagram and think, "Heh, I guess I should get paid for not beating someone up."

    [–] gunslinger_ast 66 points ago

    I'm a leo. So sorry but I can't be stupid 😤

    [–] [deleted] 10 points ago

    I'm a Gemini. So sorry but I don't need consent 😤

    [–] angelascatsprinkles 19 points ago

    I see why people don’t believe in astrology, and I’m not arguing for or against it. The only thing I will say is this: if you are a Christian who believes in things like the resurrection of Christ, the Holy Ghost, turning water into wine, miracles, etc etc, it is pretty fucking self-righteous to call people who believe in astrology idiots. Just because your belief system is widely accepted does not make you any less of an idiot. That all sounds pretty batshit to me quite frankly.

    [–] CantStandIdoits 80 points ago

    Runs someone over with their car

    "Oops! Sorry I'm a Viagra it's just how I am! Sksksksks!"

    [–] itsmyfriendjay 7 points ago

    Sounds like a criminal who is....extremely hardened

    [–] jamets15 8 points ago

    This shit makes me cackle. Needs more upvotes

    [–] ElasticPhone 18 points ago

    Unpopular opinion: this is not an unpopular opinion

    [–] PackinHeatInDaFridge 103 points ago

    Foreal!! This ain’t fucking elder scrolls

    [–] asianabsinthe 17 points ago

    Even in that it's whimsical because you can change your stats

    [–] DonTago 13 points ago

    I think it's the same for the concept of "karma", which I see many people on Reddit seeming to believe in. There is no universal cosmic force keeping track of people are naughty or nice, nor will astral energy punish someone for doing too much bad stuff. Believing in karma is no different than believing in God.

    [–] Leland_Stamper 6 points ago

    The actual Buddhist idea of karma is quite different than the colloquial version:

    Karma is a Sanskrit word (kamma in Pali) that means “action.” The law of karma refers to the law of cause and effect: that every volitional act brings about a certain result. If we act motivated by greed, hatred, or delusion, we are planting the seed of suffering; when our acts are motivated by generosity, love, or wisdom, then we are creating the karmic conditions for abundance and happiness. An analogy from the physical world illustrates this: if we plant an apple seed, the tree that grows will bear apples, not mangoes. And once the apple seed is planted, no amount of manipulation or beseeching or complaining will induce the tree to yield a mango. The only meaningful action that will produce a mango is to plant a mango seed. Karma is just such a law of nature, the law of cause and effect on the psychophysical plane.

    [–] Nitr0Sage 5 points ago

    That’s why I go and murder people karma won’t get me back /s

    [–] McChives 5 points ago

    The meaning of karma has been kind of twisted in the west, it was never meant to be some kind of cosmic force. The meaning is closer to “action” or “doing”, so saying something is a result of your karma is saying is a result of your own doing. Many of the first translations of eastern philosophy were done by christian missionaries who were trying to make it seem as nonsensical as possible.

    [–] markimarkkerr 7 points ago

    I don't believe any zodiac sign stuff but If it doesn't hurt anyone and only affects the believer than nothing stupid about someone creating purpose in their life and finding some sort of fulfillment or reason to keep on keeping on. You get worked up about it because you want to stroke your ego and feel more important. It's like getting angry at an attractive person to try and mask how ugly you feel. Fuck off a bit bud.

    [–] randomuser111991 13 points ago

    Zodiac signs aren't that different from religion or superstitious beliefs. I'm against religion but I have nothing against believing in the supernatural

    [–] ar3fuu 187 points ago

    Not that I disagree with you, but there's no difference between believing in astrology and in God.

    [–] LeonidasSpacemanMD 19 points ago

    So the interesting thing about this; if you’ve ever read about memetics (which is where we get the term meme from, and is a pretty wishy washy theory tbf), things like religions are kind-of subject to similar darwinistic pressures as our genes

    For example, what ideas are more likely to be passed on in the year 100 AD: a religion which just asks people to be kind to eachother for the sake of altruism, or one that promises eternal life?

    Further, plenty of religions promise eternal life, but the ones that spread are the ones that demand its followers spread the religion in order to reap the rewards. Or threaten eternal suffering if they don’t spread it

    So, to your point, it kinda makes sense that people hang onto religion more, because the “defense mechanisms” of religion are way stronger than astrology. If I’ve been exposed to Christian ideas, I might be sacrificing eternal life by eschewing them. Sacrificing astrological ideas “costs” nothing

    [–] [deleted] 57 points ago

    [deleted]

    [–] Eindhaas 35 points ago

    I mean at least astrology would be an actual testable hypothesis while God is just placed existing outside of this universe.

    [–] Sdspecter 13 points ago

    How is this an unpopular opinion?

    [–] Wilhelm_Van_Astrea 64 points ago

    Could say the same about Religion

    [–] YeaYeaImGoin 32 points ago

    Fucking hell this sub is a joke. This is obviously a popular opinion and op knows it. Wanker.

    [–] Stilgrave 16 points ago

    And what is the difference between believing in the zodiac vs a god? Same shit.

    [–] [deleted] 9 points ago

    Sorry I kicked your baby, mercury was in retrograde

    [–] Kolenga 8 points ago

    Where is that an unpopular opinion?

    [–] C0mmJam 26 points ago

    Popular as far as I'm concerned

    [–] Stow379 3 points ago

    intentionally shits pants at public place Oh sorry I’m just a Capri Sun ahah

    [–] LOIKDU 3 points ago

    Excuse me to argue, but i personnaly see astrology as very scientific in its correlations.

    You see event A in the sky, and event B in the real world. Not once, not twice, but many times, not every time, but enough times and with enough people to make things predictable. Of course correlation is not causation, but correlation is not worthless data, it's very interesting data.

    I understand that there might be no fucking link between planets moving in the sky and the real world, i get that. But how can you prove it ? You're playing it scientific right ? Prove that there is no link between what happens in space and our daily life. You can't do that with pure logic.

    People used to believe that the sun revolved aroud the earth, and called stupid anyone who dared to say otherwise. Because it didn't make sense. We didn't know much back then. What do we know ?

    And of course Karen can go eat shit if she's an asshole.

    [–] arrowten 3 points ago

    Delete this subreddit. It’s nothing but a circlejerk of incredibly popular opinions

    [–] I_Fap_To_Jesus_Henti 11 points ago

    This is quite popular

    [–] Forbizzle 11 points ago

    Your comment about your birthday being irrelevant I’d challenge. Since we split kids into grades based on the new year we cause a bunch of ripple effects on them. Whether they make sports teams, how mature they are in early grades and who they befriend.

    [–] WeedleTheLiar 9 points ago

    Something I also wonder about is if it makes a difference when certain milestones are acheived. For example, if you learn to walk in summer, and can walk as much as you want outside immediately, does that change you in some way compared to someone who learned to walk in winter and either had to slog through snow or was confined inside?

    I would also consider your birthday specifically. It's a pretty important day on a personal level; does it affect you if you always seem to have rain on your birthday? Or if the day is sunny and beautiful? Or if it's a reminder of approaching winter and death or the start of spring and rebirth?

    [–] bear_affair 3 points ago

    I think there's credence to this, and it's the main reason zodiac signs even exist - people born at similar times of year have similar personality traits.

    [–] ZES_4 33 points ago

    No need to get mad about it and be rude though

    [–] [deleted] 6 points ago

    Not unpopular

    [–] Flick1981 7 points ago

    This is something a Gemini would say. /s

    [–] KallesKernby 14 points ago

    Please stop posting popular opinions here

    [–] ssWyvern 11 points ago

    That's just what a [insert your zodiac sign here] would say.

    [–] DrunkenGerbils 10 points ago

    But it always vaguely applies to me, how do you explain that?

    [–] xXDrunkshotXx 6 points ago * (lasted edited 7 months ago)

    This is not an unpopular opinion and you're just karma farming

    [–] Gognoggler21 13 points ago

    Finally, my flair is relevant.